Field Trial Results 2016

Stake 1 Novice Stake for AV Spaniels           

Held at Lower Blannicombe Farm, Honiton, Devon by kind permission of Mr Nick Gregory and Ms Rebecca Irwin on Saturday 15th October 2016

Judges: Mr Dai Lloyd (2770) and Mr Kevin John (NP3607)

  1. Syncerus Solo of Creccamarsh (ESS Bitch) Richard Biggs
  2. Moelfamau Lilly  (Cocker Bitch) Graham West
  3. Thistleford Eclipse (ESS Bitch) Nigel Price
  4. Aveegotun Morning Cloud (Cocker Bitch) Gary Holbrook

Guns’ Choice: Jackson’s Spangled Dazzler (ESS Dog) Caroline Rawlings


Stake 2 Novice Stake for AV Retrievers

Held at The Affeton Shoot, East Worlington, Devon by kind permission of Mr Jeremy Boyd on Saturday 22nd October.

Judges: Mr Tim Shipp (A1916), Mr Ken Green (B3366), Mr Frank Fitheridge and Mrs Mary Palk

  1. Sandicliffe Jude of Millershook AR01366208 Paul Truby
  2. Brocklebank Zinc AQ01697204 Paul Dukes
  3. Broadlaw Josh of Mosslana AP04130802 Alan Ging

COM: Golden Rustler 4496CZ Tim Pain & Ffynongain Willie at Tudorcourt 3402DA Phil Hopper.


Stake 3 Open Qualifying Stake for Cocker Spaniels

Held on the Molland Estate by kind permission of the Molland Estate and Bettws Hall Shoot Manager, Caleb Sutton on Wednesday 26th October.

Judges: Mr Jeff Ayres (A2914) and Mr Aled Jones (B3412)

  1. FTCH Centrewalk Willow of Episcopi owned and handled by Anita Jones
  2. Tip Top Jack Ajay owned and handled by Lee Cooper
  3. Tudorbriar Skylark owned by Josie Tudor and handled by Steve Brewer
  4. Prior’s Meadow Shina owned by Mr& Mrs MJ Wills and handled by Stuart Morgan


Nettlebridge Aquarius – Mark Burr

Nicarus Moody Minx – Neil Harris

Killylin Lace – Simon Blackman

Wetlands Scream owned by Jeremy Organ handled by Gill Organ

Missselchalke Frantic – Justin Lascelles

Guns’ Choice: Chris Arscott with Wonder of Wiltshire at Centrewalk.


Stake 4 Open Qualifying Stake for English Springer Spaniels
The Club’s Open English Springer Spaniel Stake was held at the Maristow Shoot, nr Roborough, Devon on Wednesday 9th November.  A great trial when Head Keeper Gary Liddle provided excellent hospitality and a super day’s trialling.
Judges: David Rayner (A 2771) and Justin Lascelles (B3484) who needed a three dog run-off to find the winner.
  1. FTCH Bucklawren Brodie owned and handled by Simon Jones
  2.  (And Guns’ Choice) Alkinda Trerice owned and handled by Steve Bolton
  3.  Bryngwrhyd Beatrice  owned and handled by Dai Lloyd
  4.  FTCH Marshwood Rhona of Carkees owned and handled by Margaret Cox
Brockfern Breeze  owned and handled by Paddy Williams
Syncerus Solo of Creccamarsh owned and handled by Richard Biggs
Palmarrin Morse owned and handled by Kathryn Holmes
Brynabor Max  owned and handled by David Pither
Stake 5 Novice Stake for AV Retrievers
The Club’s Novice Stake for AV Retrievers was held at the Hall Shoot, Bishop’s Tawton, Devon by kind permission of Jeremy Boyd on Wednesday 16th November.
Judges: Mr Nick Coates, Mr Michael Brown, Mr Craig Perry and Miss Mell Brooks.
  1. Fendawood Fellar Rueben Mort
  2. Weststall Tolley Frank Fitheridge
  3. Golden Rustler Time Pai
Lubbecke Simone Gillian Yates
Endacott Todd for Lovehayne Richard J Edwards
Saintcyres Cavendish Zoe Townsend

Guns Choice: Broadlaw Josh of Mosslana


Stake 6 Open Stake for Novice Retrievers

The Club’s Open Stake for AV Retrievers was held at the The North Molton Shoot, by kind permission of the North Molton Syndicate and Headkeeper Mr Robert Mitchell on Wednesday 30th November.

Judges: Mr Steve Ashby, Mr Chris Brain, Mr Keith Broomfield and Mr David England.

  1. Amy Bates Levenghyl Rock n Roll
  2. Alan Ging Leadburn MacDonald of Mosslana
  3. David Wall Buccleuch Warwick


Sally Richardson FTCh Frizlewood Odan of Hartleyjean

Richard Edwards Lord Rye of Knowle for Lovehayne

Guns choice: Mattew Gould Weststall Shadow of Hawkerline


Stake 7 Novice Stake for AV Spaniels

The Club’s Novice Stake for AV Spaniels was held at the The Heanton Shoot, Clinton Estates, Merton, Devon by kind permission of Lord and Lady Clinton and Head-keeper Mr Kevin Brosnan on Thursday 1st December.

Judges: Mr Martin Ford and Ms Sally Jenkins.

  1. Bucklawren Kritic of Tylacoch Jeff Ayres
  2. Cornormarsh James of Blaisodell Robin Sims
  3. Burtlemoor Onyx Keith Drinkwater
  4. Loperwood Ernie Nick Cox


Chilly of the Mountaine Robert Wilmott

Farlacombe Jayne Tony Kandes

Edwardiana Jumping Jazz of Halwynryston Mike Hoskins

Guns’ Choice: Thistleford Eclipse Sara Chichester

Kirsty Cup: Bucklawren Kritic of Tylacoch Jeff Ayres


Stake 8 Open stake for Retrievers

The Club’s last field trial was held at The Castle Hill Estate, Filleigh, Devon by kind permission of the Castle Hill Shoot and Head-keeper Mr Brian Mitchell on Wednesday 14th December.

Judges: Mrs Judy Rainey (A59), Mr Mark Bettinson (A1836), Mr Jamie Bettinson (A2893) and Mr Keith Sandercock (B2498)

  1. Heather Bradley Chancelend Pitch of Heathergaye
  2. Sharon Dingle Bellspaddle Intrepid
  3. Sally Ashby Movenne Cougar at Tunnelwood
  4. Allie Hogsbjerg Quarnford Grouse of Rufriver


Laurie Pittaway Karnoosty Fairway Flier

Diana Wiggin FTCH Brockweir Daisy

Helen Chatterton Buffskin Xena